Getting our hands on a linux box

Timezone: Central Time (US & Canada) (GMT-06:00)
Page:  ·1· ·2·
� Previous :: Next �
AuthorMessage
Dominus
Dungeonmaster
Getting our hands on a linux box
Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 3:24 pm
In case you guys didn't know, the mud is currently running on Windows XP. It couldn't be helped - my spare computers just didnt offer enough parts for me to get a working linux machine, so we're stuck running the mud on Windows. As you can probably imagine, this is a terrible environment to run the mud, and as you've noticed it crashes a lot. Worse, Windows is bad at debugging, so finding the problem is 5000x more difficult than on a linux machine.

Some players have expressed a desire to help out, and since I'm a poor college student, I figured, why not. I won't be able to get my hands on a linux box any time soon, and Bane's in China. Here's what we want, in order of importance:
  • Complete control of the machine, which is why we aren't interested in a hosting service.
  • RAM. Good for mud.
  • Processor power. Good for mud.
  • Linux. Also good for mud. But we'll be putting this on the machine, so it doesn't have to come with it.

If you want to help out, you can do so in a couple ways.

One, send me a computer. If you've got a spare one lying around, I'll take it - my spare computers have problems preventing them from booting (dead motherboard, stuff like that), but there's a chance I can port some working pieces over.

Two, send me money. I'll move to Mexico after the check clears Mr. Green Alternatively, since some of you know each other IRL, it'd probably be best for all of you to chip in for option one. Otherwise, I am going to use the $$ you send me and go get a machine.

If you plan on going out, buying a new machine, and sending it to me... post about it on the forum. I don't need 15 new computers on my doorstep Smile The one RoH is currently running on is 2.4 GHz with 1.5g ram.